MaxAttack! raised the level of two wheel drive rally racing in the United States for the past few years. Thanks to the generous support of our sponsor during those years, Danza del Sol Winery in Temecula Valley, California, the Rallysports Group of America (RSGA) paid out a cash purse of $15,000 USD per year to be divided amongst the fastest teams competing in the MaxAttack! events.

CPD Racing Team Kyle Sarasin and Mikael Johansson Prevail at Rally West Virginia

Elkins, WV (August, 5, 2007) – The MaxAttack! Triple Crown Rally Series provided no shortage of thrills for spectators at Rally West Virginia. With 22 teams competing for a share of the $8000 cash prize fund, just finishing in a position to take home prize money was no easy task. “At a MaxAttack! event you’ve got to be at your absolute best”, said Factory Mazda driver Eric Burmeister, “because the competition here in 2wd is at an unprecedented level.”

Indeed it was. Longtime rallyfan Russ Johnson has seen a lot of rally racing. After watching MaxAttack! rallycars rocket down the mountain roads, spraying gravel as they drifted though corner after corner, just inches from trees, rocks, and cliffs, Johnson was elated. “I haven’t seen rallycars attack the stage roads like that in years!” The excited shouts from the hundreds of spectators proved he wasn’t the only one enjoying the show.

As the rally worked into its final stages two teams separated themselves from the pack and were fighting stage after stage for the first place prize. Local favorites Josh and Jeremy Wimpey in their Delt V Volkswagon Golf GTI trailed the leading team of Kyle Sarasin and Mikael Johnansson in their CPD racing Ford Focus by a handful of seconds all afternoon. The two teams knew the stakes. One error behind the wheel by Sarasin lead would change hands. It was a showdown. Neither team blinked as the two cars flew through the final stages of the rally.. In the end it was a jubilant Sarasin who was able to withstand the pressure of an all out attack from the Wimpey brothers. Delta V driver Josh Wimpey was all smiles as well. A great battle to the finish is the dream of every rally driver.

Third place was taken by the factory Mazda team of Eric Burmeister and Dave Shindle. The power of their front wheel drive Mazdaspeed3 was evident as an explosive, whistling, turbocharged soundtrack of horsepower announced the oncoming beast of a rallycar. In fourth place was the team of Evan Moen and Dan Victor in another beautiful sounding rallycar. Their Acura Integra Type R roared like an angry monster, echoing through the mountains giving everyone in the valley a chance hear what an all motor rallycar sounds like. The fact that Evan was driving like a madman also made him quite exciting to watch.

Hot on his heels was the team of Luke Sorensen and John Iden in their turbocharged 1975 Saab. The car has the classic looks of a vintage racer but was an animal in the hands of driver Luke Sorenson as he whipped the Saab sideways around corners MaxAttack! was his driving style, fifth place was his prize. Rounding out the top six and the recipient of the final cash payout was the team of Hampton Bridwell and Josh Katinger in their 2002 Ford Focus. While giving away a huge horsepower advantage to the other teams they drove a smart rally to overcome the odds and get a great finish.

The next stop for the MaxAttack! Triple Crown Rally Series is the Lake Superior Pro Rally in Houghton, Michigan. The spirit of 2wd rally competition will be there as MaxAttack! teams from all around the country come to finish up the season with one last wild ride through the woods.