'' Final Results from Lake Superior | Max-Attack.com

MaxAttack! raised the level of two wheel drive rally racing in the United States for the past few years. Thanks to the generous support of our sponsor during those years, Danza del Sol Winery in Temecula Valley, California, the Rallysports Group of America (RSGA) paid out a cash purse of $15,000 USD per year to be divided amongst the fastest teams competing in the MaxAttack! events.

Final Results from Lake Superior

Results are official, prizes have been awarded, and here are the final MaxAttack! results from the 2011 Lake Superior Rally.

1. Jan Zedril/Jody Zedril, Mitsubishi Lancer, 2:20:34
2. Joseph Burke/Alex Kihurani, Ford Fiesta R2, 2:22:32
3. Billy Mann/Mary Warren, Honda Civic, 2:33:13
4. Silas Himes/Matt Himes, Honda Civic, 2:33:29
5. Chris Czyzio/Jeff Secor, Volvo 240, 2:46:15
6. Ian Seppanen/Daniel Clark, Nissan 240SX, 2:58:48
7. Steve Brockelman/Dustin Masters, GMC Sonoma, 2:59:21
8. Cameron Steely/Josh Buller, Ford Focus, 3:01:20
9. Daryn Chernick/Matt Conte, VW GTi, 3:08:34
DNF. Mark Huebbe/John Huebbe, VW Beetle, unknown
DNF. Chris Greenhouse/Brian Johnson, Plymouth Neon, motor
DNF. Derek McCorison/Paul Johansen, Hyundai Tiburon, unknown
DNF. Bryan Holder/Tracy Payeur, Plymouth Neon, suspension
DNF. Dillon Van Way/Jake Blattner, Ford Fiesta, clutch
DNF. David Grenwis/Drew Burkholder, electrical
DNF. Mychal Summers/Ryan DesLauriers, Mazda RX-7, mechanical
DNF. Paul Donlin/Jonathan Tinsey, Ford Escort, belt
DNF. Jim Scray/Colin Vickman, Datsun 510, motor
DNF. Matt Bushore/Andrew Bushore, VW Jetta, transmission
DNF. Erik Hill/Oliver Cooper, Eagle Talon, transmission
DNF. Kristofer Yahner/Tony Benusa, VW GTI, mechanical
The money winners were:
$1500 - Jan Zedril/Jody Zedril
$1200 - Joseph Burke/Alex Kihurani
$1000 - Billy Mann/Mary Warren
$800 - Silas Himes/Matt Himes
$500 - Chris Czyzio/Jeff Secor.
By virtue of being the only team at LSPR that ran one of the east or west coast qualifying events, the single starting point earned by Dillon Van Way and Jake Blattner was enough to claim the 2011 Jake Himes Cup.
The winner of the Alex Gelsomino Novice Co-Driver award was Mary Warren, who co-drove in the #37 Honda Civic for driver Billy Mann this weekend. She receives a $500 cash prize from Alex, co-driver for the Monster World Rally Team Ford Fiesta. Alex has been a staunch supporter of the MaxAttack! championship, and we would like to thank him very much for his continued generosity.
Another special award was the Max Improver Award, presented by the Terra Firma Clothing Company. This award is presented to the MaxAttack! team that improved the most from their start position to their finish position. There was a clear winner, but there was another performance that was impressive enough to cause Terra Firma to issue a second prize. The second place finishers were Daryn Chernick and Matt Conte in a VW GTI. They each receive a $15 credit from Terra Firma. The winner was the GMC Sonoma crew of Steve Brockelman and Dustin Masters, who each receive $25 towards Terra Firma clothing. Thank you Terra Firma for providing this award.
I would like to offer another correction to a previously-issued press release.  The Zedrils' Mitsubishi Lancer is not turbocharged, as we originally stated.  Their car runs in Group 5 in Canada because their normally-aspirated motor exceeds CARS Group 2 specifications.  But it does fit into Rally America Group 2 regulations.  Hence the confusion.
MaxAttack! would like to thank the Danza del Sol winery for their support of the program. Thanks also to the competitors who believe in the sprit of two-wheel-drive grassroots rallying, and also the organizers who make MaxAttack! feel so welcome at their events. Thanks also to Rally America for their support and assistance in 2011. It has been a great season.

Content Type: